Top 10 Lowlights of Last Year

24 Jan

One way to find value in what you are doing now is to remember where you were just one year ago.  Last night I put together a list of my Top 10 Lowlights as a way of remembering just how bad it was and just how good I have it now.

This exercise actually worked so well that, in an effort to remain professional, I can’t actually post it.  I came up with so many lowlights that I had trouble sleeping.  To some extent I think may have actually blocked out a lot of the experience because of how traumatic it was for me.  Remembering some of the bad stories really brought me back to a different time in my life.  I am so happy that time is over.  These are some of the challenges that made last year so difficult for me:

  • Living alone in a rural area 2 hours away from my nearest friends and family – 5 hours from my boyfriend
  • Working in an environment that lacked teamwork
  • Not being able to use my strengths on the job
  • Working long hours – even overnight shifts
  • Feeling completely unprepared and out of control
  • Having performance goals that were completely numbers based
  • Conflict of values with the company and store
  • Being expected to know everything without any training
  • Having multiple negative interactions with unhappy customers per day
  • Depression

The list is pretty much never ending.  As hard as it was to think back to some of those experiences, it helped me really appreciate how great my life is right now.  I can go through every single one of those bullet points and comment on how things have improved.

Clearly this exercise doesn’t apply to everyone, but if it does, I dare you to do it too.

One Response to “Top 10 Lowlights of Last Year”

  1. katie January 25, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    this post made me remember that conversation we had about your goals at work – theirs were numbers, yours were people focused. i remember how excited we were when you figured it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

