January Reflection: Finding Value in My Work (Every Day)

25 Jan

This past month I’ve spent each day focusing on finding value in my work.  Before I started this exercise, I tended to get lost in the repetition of my daily tasks.  Although I’ve enjoyed my job so far, I started to let negativity impact the way I saw my role on the team.  Luckily I had a “wakeup call” and realized that I needed to change my attitude.  I’ve already felt a change in myself as I started to take myself, my positive attitude, and my career path more seriously.   Finding value in my work has helped me find value in my life as a whole.  This was a great first step in my year-long journey.  These are some things I’ve learned throughout the month:

I am young and nothing is beneath me.  I graduated from college with the expectation that I would automatically do high-level work.  News flash – no one starts out as a manager.  Regardless of my previous unrealistic expectations, I have come to the realization that my career has just begun.  I am going to be doing the work that no one else with experience wants to do and that’s okay.  If I get to do something that’s fun, I should appreciate it because that is a privilege and not a right.

It is my responsibility to find value in my work and use what I learn to move forward in my career.  If I can’t find value in my work, who will?  It is solely up to me to recognize the importance of the things I am learning and create a path for myself on my own.  I can’t expect anyone to have a plan in mind for me.  My career path is 100% in my own hands.  I need to use this time to learn as much as I can and build my brand.  If I know what I want and what I’m working towards, I won’t let myself end up in a bad situation again.  Only I know what is going to make me happy; I need to trust that I’ll lead myself in the right direction.

I need to be present and engaged at work every single day.  Have you ever driven to work and forget how you got there?  Sometimes it’s really easy to just switch to autopilot when you are doing something that you do every single day.  It’s never okay to be on autopilot at work.  You can’t just “go through the motions” every day if you expect to do a great job.  Even if what I am doing isn’t Rocket Science, it’s a stepping stone towards my future.  I don’t want to wake up again in 3-5 years and not remember how I got there.  I need to be present in the moment and engaged in my work.

The more I look at the big picture, the happier I am.  My goal for this month was to wake up and start paying attention to my life.  I’ve done a lot of “big picture” thinking recently and it has already paid off.  I feel happier in my job than I did when I first started.  The best part is that I am aware of all of the challenges but I feel like I am ready to accept them because I value what I am learning right now.

It is okay to take myself seriously.  For way too long I’ve felt like people would laugh at me if I took myself seriously.  I built up a barrier over the years that forced me to disregard my feelings.  Taking myself seriously doesn’t mean that I think I am more important than others.  It means that I know that I have something to offer to the world besides carbon dioxide.  Although it is going to take a long time to break down that barrier, I think I’ve started on the right track with this blog.  I am extremely appreciative of all of the feedback I’ve gotten so far, it makes me feel like I am doing the right thing.

I am really looking forward to everything I am going to learn about myself over the next 11 months!

 

2 Responses to “January Reflection: Finding Value in My Work (Every Day)”

  1. Beverly Viscusi January 25, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Thank you for your hard work on this blog. It has helped me even though I have been at the same office for 17 years and doing the same things everyday. For me, I respect the challenge of walking through each door and trying to understand what is wrong with that child and how to help that child through their family. Each child is like a mystery and a unique experience in how to treat them and help their family take care of their child. Therefore every day and every experience is unique and interesting.
    I think my favorite quote would help others reading as well. Life is not about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself – George Bernard Shaw.
    Five year goals are also a wonderful idea.

  2. katie January 25, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    “It means that I know that I have something to offer to the world besides carbon dioxide.”

    hahaha love this!!

Leave a Reply

