February topic: Planning

1 Feb

 

If you ask anyone who has known me for a while, most would describe me as a “Planner.”  It’s not that I am not flexible, it’s just that I feel much more productive when I have a plan.  I consider “planning” to be a strength of mine mainly because it comes natural to me.  When I want to get something done, I plan how I am going to do it.  When I am faced with a difficult situation, I plan how I am going to get out of it.

The more I think about it, the more I realize that planning is a defense mechanism for me.  It is a way of dealing with unknown or stressful situations.  My first reaction to stress is to make a list of everything that I need to do to fix the problem.  When I sit down at work each morning, I make a list of everything that I need to complete throughout the day.  It is my way of ensuring that I can have as much control of a situation as possible.  I guess one could describe me as a bit of a “Control Freak.”

I can thank my High School for giving me my first Planner.  Since that day in 9th grade, I’ve bought a weekly planner for 10 consecutive years.  My current one is pretty awesome but I do miss my school-themed planners.  I can’t believe it’s actually been a decade since my first planner.  I fully admit that I am a nerd, but I completely attribute my success thus far to my planners.

You can’t sell a product if you don’t focus on its strengths.  That is why I this February I am going to be focusing on strengthening my planning skills in the following ways:

  • Identifying planning strengths and areas of opportunity
  • Finding and following blogs that discuss career planning
  • Reading about planning through articles and books
  • Recognizing the appropriate time to plan vs. act
One Response to “February topic: Planning”

  1. Beverly Viscusi February 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    OMG Sister Mary Joan would love this one!! I think planning is great everyone needs to be organized.

Leave a Reply

