Recommended Read: Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office 101

11 Feb

 

I bought this book over a year ago but I hadn’t been able to relate to in when I worked in retail.  A conversation with my coworker Maureen sparked my interest in this book again.  I haven’t finished it yet, but I totally recommend it to all of the females who are reading this!

This book is a cheap version of career counseling.  There is a self-assessment in the first chapter that helps you point out your strengths and opportunities in regards to how you present yourself in a work setting.  The assessment breaks down your results into the following categories:  Play, Act, Think, Market, Look, Sound, and Respond.  I scored high on “Think” and “Look” and scored low on “Market” and “Sound.”  In general, everything was pretty low so I will be able to learn a lot from this book!

After you have determined which areas you need to work on, you go to the chapter that gives examples of related mistakes and solutions to fixing those mistakes.  For example, one of the mistakes that I’ve identified in my behavior is “Apologizing (excessively)” which is listed under the chapter titled “How You Sound.”  The author even gives you an action plan to help you correct this mistake.

I plan on using this book throughout the year to correct some of the behaviors that are holding me back from doing my best at work.

I’ve made this super easy for you, just click the link and get your copy of Lois P. Frankel’s book!  Nice Girls Don’t Get The Corner Office.

 

2 Responses to “Recommended Read: Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office 101”

  1. katie February 11, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    hmm sounds awesome i want to read it!

    • Christina February 12, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

      You gotta!! You’d absolutely love it!

Leave a Reply

